Grand Theft Auto IV: A Guilty Pleasure

7 05 2008

GTA4 I know this isn’t a “classic” video game, but hey, this is my Blog 🙂

So, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto IV (GTA4) for a number of days now and I must say that I am impressed: I rarely play a game for more than twenty to forty minutes tops, and here I am, several hours into a game and not tired of it yet. This is a good thing!

I waffled between buying the XBOX 360 (360) or the Playstation 3 (PS3) version for a while, but settled on the PS3 when I took into account the fact that aside from Resistance: Fall of Man, there really was no game that I was playing on the system. I may have chosen wrong, as I read that there is quite a bit of extra content on the 360 version that isn’t available for the PS3. Even so, I love this game so far.

Not for the young, as it is a mature game, with mature situations, scenes and language and peppered with hookers and hoods galore. Also, not for faint of heart (or spirit),  GTA4 is a brutal affair where you play the role of a Russian immigrant making your way through the ranks of the mob. Through various missions, you gain respect and position, all the while honing your skills. Hell, I found myself bowling with an on-screen girlfriend in the first hour or so of firing it up for the first time! I doubt I will be getting bored with this game very soon. Unlike most games, I am left wondering what’s next – very few games do that to me.

This is a game with depth. I have barely scratched the surface of this game, and I am more than willing to dive right in time constraints like work and sleep are getting in the way of this, though! 😛

If you are old enough to buy it, and not easily offended (and have a PS3 or 360), you should get this game.

Here is one of the trailers for the game:

music note While writing this, I was listening to “Against the Nature” by Gogol Bordello

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 05 2008
» Grand Theft Auto IV: An Evil Pleasure

[…] Video Games Mall wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I know this isn’t a “classic” video game, but hey, this is my Blog So, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto IV (GTA4) for a number of days now and I must say that I am impressed: I rarely play a game for more than twenty to forty minutes tops, and here I am, several hours into a game and not tired of it yet. This is a good thing! I waffled between buying the XBOX 360 (360) or the Playstation 3 (PS3) version for a while, but settled on the PS3 when I took into account the fact that aside fr […]

7 05 2008
Ps3 » Grand Theft Auto IV: An Evil Pleasure

[…] Catfishman’s World of Shiny Things wrote an interesting post today on Grand Theft Auto IV: An Evil PleasureHere’s a quick excerptI may have chosen wrong, as I read that there is quite a bit of extra content on the 360 version that isn’t available for the PS3. Even so, I love this game so far….If you are old enough to buy it, and not easily offended (and have a PS3 or 360), you should get this game….Technorati Tags: GTA4,Gaming,Grand Theft Auto IV,Lee Kempster,PS3,Videogames,Xbox 360…I waffled between buying the XBOX 360 (360) or the Playstation 3 (PS3) version for a while, but settled on the PS3 when I took into account the fact that aside from R… […]

7 05 2008
Grand Theft Auto » Blog Archive » Grand Theft Auto IV: An Evil Pleasure

[…] catfishman wrote an interesting post today on Grand Theft Auto IV: An Evil PleasureHere’s a quick excerptSo, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto IV (GTA4) for a number of days now and I must say that I am impressed: I rarely play a game for more than twenty to forty minutes tops, and here I am, several hours into a game and not tired of it … […]

8 05 2008
mylesfromnowhere

I am unwilling to commit 2 months of my life so I am avoiding it for now

Leave a Reply

