The Asus Eee PC – Best Gadget I’ve Ever Purchased? Maybe…

12 12 2007

EeePC701_black A couple of weeks ago I purchased a micro-notebook computer from Asus called the Eee PC. This tiny machine is about half the size of a regular laptop, and runs for more than three hours on it’s battery. This little baby packs in three USB ports, a SD/MMC slot, built in webcam (low resolution, but surprisingly clear and bright), wireless 802.11 b/g and integrated ethernet. Shipping with 512 megabytes of ram and just a 4 gigabyte solid state flash harddrive, I almost immediately upgraded that two megabytes of ram and stuck a an 8 gigabyte SD card for additional storage. The screen is a little small (7 inches) with a true resolution off 800X480, and a simulated 800X600 (screen scrolling), but very crisp. I don’t think I’d want to be working on large spreadsheets, as the scrolling would probably drive me nuts, but word processing is a breeze, and surfing the ‘Net worked fantastic (although, once again, a larger resolution would be nice). One thing it doesn’t have is any kind of optical drive. No DVD or CD drive, to save space, cost and battery life, many may find this a pain, but I haven’t. I have a cheap external DVD burner (drive was $20, external USB case was $25 – put them together and I have a $45 external 16X DVD burner) that I plugged into it. The Eee PC recognized it right away, and on a lark, I threw in a DVD movie to see if it would play it… It did – beautifully!

The Eee PC ships loaded with Xandros Linux with a simplified interface, but you can select a full interface, or actually install Windows XP (not included), as they supply a disk with Windows drivers for all the laptop’s hardware. This is what I opted for. I now have Windows XP running quite smoothly on this little machine. I stripped out any unnecessary Windows components to save precious space. IT WORKS AWESOME!!!

I connected it to my wireless network seamlessly, and streamed video, music and files without any hiccups. This is especially cool, as streaming media means that I don’t have to store it on the already limited storage space.

So, how much is this little puppy? $1000? $1500? Try $400!!!

Highly recommended folks, buy it!!!

Actions

Information

7 responses

15 12 2007
Hana

RE: ” I have a cheap external DVD burner (drive was $20, external USB case was $25 – put them together and I have a $45 external 16X DVD burner) that I plugged into it.”

-What type of drive? is it compatible to any external DVD burner? Am not a computer/tech savvy person and no idea about this terms how it looks like? please give me more specific upgrading tips on how i can maximize the benefits/good side of this notebook.

-how to connect optical drive?

-how to install XP?

Thanks in advance! Merry Christmas!

15 12 2007
Catfishman

I used a BenQ DVD burner, put into a no-name USB drive enclosure. I think jhust about any drive will do, as the all work the same way. It connects to the Eee PC through one of its three USB ports

28 12 2007
Dman

If you are game you can pull it apart and soldier on a 16GB HD and it works! Check out google or youtube if you want the procedure….

14 03 2008
Saira

Quote: “I stripped out any unnecessary Windows components to save precious space.”

May I ask which Windows components you removed? I want to delete some stuff as well to save space, but I dunno which ones to delete. Any tips? Thanks! 🙂

29 10 2010
Body Scrub Recipes :

notebook computers that are made by Sony are the best looking notebook computers**,

14 11 2010
Eye Laser Surgery ·

everyone likes to watch dvd movies, i watch at least 4 dvd movies a day :”

18 11 2010
catfishman

Well, the world is moving to digital content, and movies play well off of a USB stick

Leave a Reply

